"Tulpas!" is a sprawling collection of reinterpretations and transformations of RLW's work through the early '90s by many of the major sound artists from around the world.
Five CDs in length, almost six hours in total duration, the scale of the work is unlike anything else in recent sonic art.
Over two years in realization, it combines two major aspects of RLW's work: that pieces themselves are in a permanent state of flux (as witnessed by the number of times RLW has reworked his own pieces over the years), and the collaborations, which provide him with new material and new impulses.
Wehowsky invited the participation of the collaborees, but left it up to the individual participants to decide what approach to take.
Different participants received different inputs, ranging from a score to sequences on floppy disk to original sound material on DAT.
The starting points range from RLW's most recent pieces (including seven interpretations of Nameless Victims) to his earliest work with P16.D4. Most of the pieces take a single RLW piece as a starting point, but several cover the entire RLW catalog.
The degree of collaboration also varied, in some cases involving several exchanges of material.
When all the pieces had been delivered, Wehowsky edited, remastered, and sequenced them to the final form they have now.
The CDs come in a cloth-bound book along with 40 pages of essays, notes, photos, and sketches.
A "tulpa" is a term from Tibetan Buddhism and refers to the phantom projection of the bodhisattva in countless magic forms, and this collection shows RLW's sonic presence as manifested in the collaborations with so many luminaries of the late 20th century.

"Tulpas" was released by Selektion in 1997.

CD 1 :
1-01 Michael Gendreau - 2-NV-PO33M(0-20KC)preRAII-S
1-02 Jos Smolders - Through The Looking Glass
1-03 Runzelstirn & Gurgelstock - -
1-04 Noise-Maker's Fifes - Nameless Victims
1-05 Crawl Unit - One Clank In Loop Formation
1-06 In Be Tween Noise - Vein Stems Is Calm
1-07 Eric Lanzillotta - Unrecognizable Compositions

CD 2 :
2-01 Artificial Memory Trace - Äwron Pt 1 & 2
2-02 M Behrens - Quersumme RLW
2-03 Koji Marutani - RLW Assemblage
2-04 Lionel Marchetti & Jérôme Noetinger - -
2-05 Lionel Marchetti & Jérôme Noetinger - - -
2-06 Antanas Jasenka - Room Music

CD 3 :
3-01 Francisco Lopez - Untitled Piece
3-02 Christoph Heemann - Breaths Of Freezing Air
3-03 Bruno Moreigne - Virtual Eardrum
3-04 John Duncan - Split Second
3-05 Werner Durand - Third Monolith - Close-Up
3-06 Asmus Tietchens - Es Sei
3-07 Ryoji Ikeda - One Minute
3-08 Action Concret - Opka: Unlit
3-09 David Grubbs - Pullover
3-10 Das Synthetische Mischgewebe - Unworn Cellophane (Sliced Return)
3-11 Jim O'Rourke - Strictly Yours

CD 4 :
4-01 Toshiya Tsunoda - L: Movement By Induction; R: Limitative Current
4-02 Peter Rehberg & Ramon Bauer - Sometimes Titled
4-03 Peter Duimelinks & Roel Meelkop - Pierremi
4-04 Bruce Russell - Fried Eyes
4-05 N.N Und Ähnliche Elemente - Erneut Gekreuzt Und Ausgemendelt
4-06 Toy Bizarre - KDI DCTB 42 - Heda!
4-07 Meeuw - Vier Mal Die Null
4-08 Achim Wollscheid - -
4-09 Jan Peter E.R Sonntag - Between The Days Für Elektronik Und Das Sierra Bar Trio
4-10 Minoru Sato - -- In Blank / -- On Sound

CD 5 :
5-01 Brume - Kleine Blaue Hybriden
5-02 Kimihide Kusafuka - The Lowest Karlsruhe #2
5-03 Baraka[H] - Mutilated Monolith
5-04 Merzbow - Kleine Blaue Hybriden
5-05 Idea Fire Company - Silent Calculus
5-06 Jörg Thomasius - Phone Cumn Reallow
5-07 Brume - Wer Nicht ...
5-08 Husk - Sentiment Und Frohsinn 1983/1985/1996
5-09 John Watermann - Cows In ¾ Mourning, Maybe
5-10 Giancarlo Toniutti - Hal Qáygein Hal Qáalgan
5-11 Contrastate - Pierre Never Made It
5-12 Aube - Gegenraise
5-13 Frans de Waard - Waving Back

This is rare!
49.00 €
Add to cart
Successfully added!

« back

This item has been successfully added to cart

Check-out Continue shopping