Seven Songs Of Darkness


CD Jewel Box (RRR-CD-10) - RRRECORDS

Impact Test formed out of the ashes of the legendary Milwaukee industrial/noise group Boy Dirt Car in the late 1980's, a product of the bizarre and unique underground music scene happening in Milwaukee at the time along with bands like F/I, Vocokesh, Die Kreuzen, and BDC.
Impact Test would even have members of Violent Femmes (!) and hardcore legends Die Kreuzen appear on some of their albums, but for the most part the band has slipped into obscurity since the turn of the century.
Fans of old-school industrial are missing out, so we've picked up two of Impact Test's albums that are still in print, both of which came out on RRRecords in the first half of the 1990's.
This 1993 album that Impact Test recorded with Victor DeLorenzo from Violent Femmes is very weird, with eleven songs that range from dark industrial drone pieces with solemn male and female spoken word parts recited over top, to awesome noir-tinged free jazz sax blowing hard over coruscating guitar feedback and undercurrents of heavy, electronic murk, plodding industrial-tribal percussion, creaking Throbbing Gristle-style beatscapes, heavy distorted dark ambience, weird No Wave jams with honking sax smeared over herky-jerky drums and choking guitar skree and deep furious snarling vocals that appear in a couple of spots throughout the album.

1 Holy War 6:02
2 The Looters (Part IV Of "The Man Who Rose From The Ashes") 5:06
3 The Door/The Zone '92/Guns Are As Good As Money 15:47
4 Emigre 6:42
5 Crispus Attux 2:43
6 Silent Obsession 3:44
7 The Sea Wall 4:16
8 Texas 4:00
9 St. James' Infirmary 6:14
10 Dark December Song 9:07
11 Moss Landing 5:12
12 Untitled 4:35

This is rare!
13.00 €
Add to cart
Successfully added!

« back

This item has been successfully added to cart

Check-out Continue shopping