Edges is the long anticipated debut album from Philly’s Hot Guts (founded in 2007 by frontman Wes Russell and drummer Greg Frantz as a sonic reflection of the rotting urban hell hole that surrounded them).
Previous releases included a 7” on Badmaster Records, a cassette, and a split 7” with NY’s Pop. 1280.
Edges is a perfect blend of sullen and morose post-punk, catchy synthwave, and industrial nihilism that is somehow overshadowed by a sense of a youthful optimism.
Comparisons could certainly be made to bands like Savage Republic (Tragic Figures era) or Cop Shoot Cop, but they would have to be tapered with the side of things that could fit seamlessly alongside classic early Factory Records bands.
Ultimately, comparisons are useless since Edges is a solid album that really just needs to be listened to start to finish.
Russell and Frantz were joined on this recording by Philly musicians Michael Reaser (FNU Ronnies), and Adam Cooper (Tickly Feather).
Edges also features contributions from legendary Philly-based experimental musician Charles Cohen (on the Buchla Box), and the lovely Miss Shari Vari (AKA Void Vision).

Edges is available as a deluxe gatefold edition and comes with a free digital download.

Tracklist :
A1 Radium Girls
A2 Heater Beauty
A3 Unawares
A4 The Ballad Of John Simon
B1 Edges
B2 Impostors Featuring – Void Vision
B3 Small Brass Cage

13.00 €
Add to cart
Successfully added!

« back

This item has been successfully added to cart

Check-out Continue shopping