INDICATE [Jim O'Rourke + Robert Hampson]

CD Jewel Box (TO:25) - TOUCH

INDICATE is a collaborative project by Jim O'Rourke (Illusion of Safety / Faust / Red Krayola / Christopher Heeman...) and Robert Hampson (Main...).

The Wire (UK): Jim O'Rourke's uncanny ability to enter into a collaborative venture and maximise the potential of that situation is now abundantly evident.
His work with artists as disparate as Eddie Prevost, KK Null, and Gunter Muller provides ample confirmation of his flexibility and musical ingenuity.
On this release, O'Rourke finds an able collaborator in Main's Robert Hampson.
Given that there were reportedly heated arguments between the duo over the conceptual approach to this work, it is remarkable how the input of the two coheres with such force.
This friction acts as an animating, invigorating catalyst within these recordings.
The three untitled tracks (designated simply according to their duration) are subtly and superbly crafted, and although much of this music occurs at the periphery of one's hearing,
it eschews soporific and pacifying properties in favour of the quietly abrasive.
Bursts of static give way to extremely low volume radio broadcasts, fragments of near-silence are displaced by haunting, drone-based interludes presumably generated by guitar treatments and samples fed through O'Rourke's array of home-built effects units.
This results in an agreeable level of grittiness permeating the music, a welcome relief from the digital slickness pursued by many contemporary musicians.

1  Untitled     10:17
2  Untitled     22:51
3  Untitled     15:30

12.00 €
Add to cart
Successfully added!

« back

This item has been successfully added to cart

Check-out Continue shopping