Nos Chants Perdus [second edition]


CD Digipack (TRI 447 CD) - TRISOL

Second edition in standard Digipack.

Over a series of remarkable concept albums, the Luxembourgish band ROME have developed a totally unique ‘poetry of longing’ which rings out from the dark melancholic mist of rootlessness and which gives expression to a comprehensive feeling of modern forlornness.
The protagonists of their music are the unintentional ‘rebels’ of Camus (The Rebel; original: L’Homme révolté), contemporaries from the turbulent epochs of the 20th century: the banished and the hunted; the despised and the misunderstood – always enemies of dictatorship.
This is what the songs of Jerome Reuter are about, firmly in the tradition of his declared heroes JACQUES BREL and LÉO FERRÉ, (on earlier albums also TOM WAITS and NICK CAVE).
As regards content, Rome are inspired by world literature and the observant listener
will be able to detect references to and quotations from ALBERT CAMUS, MARCEL PROUST, JEAN-PAUL SARTRE and JEAN GENET.
This serves to create a new kind of intertextuality between word and sound.
Following on from their EP ‘L’Assassin’ (2010) ROME assiduously develop their sound further on the minimalistic, simple singer-songwriter album ‘Nos Chants Perdus’, slowly leaving the apocalyptic realms behind them.
Catchy melodies, which breathe the timeless atmosphere of the metropolis on the Seine, impress themselves on the memory.
The sonorous voice bears the weltschmerz as well as the yearning for freedom and peace.
Apart from the French song titles the lyrics are primarily performed in English, while the music is constructed primarily with acoustic instruments: piano, guitar, touches of strings, accordion.
They have largely relinquished electronic elements, which marks ‘Nos Chants Perdus’ out as a further stride in the work of the band.

01 L'Homme Revolte
02 Les Deracines
03 Le Chatiment du Traitre
04 L'Assassin
05 Le Vertige du Vide
06 Les Exigences de la Foi
07 La Commune
08 Sous la Dague
09 Les Isles Noires
10 Un Adieu à la Folie
11 La Rose et la Hache
12 Chanson de Gestes

15.00 €
Add to cart
Successfully added!

« back

This item has been successfully added to cart

Check-out Continue shopping