Sleep England


CD Digipack (JNANA 001) - DURTRO / JNANA

Sleep England is "Michael Cashmor's" first album under his own name, a name that will be familiar to followers of Current 93.
For the past 15 years Michael Cashmore has imbued the work of Current 93 with majestic chords and pastoral shades.
His musical contributions have lent a warm melancholy to David Tibet's armageddon outpourings.
Sleep England
takes these as its starting point with his beautiful guitarwork left uncluttered, its brittle pluck and strum weaving intricate melodies issuing a steady stream of gently tumbling notes.
Sometimes drawing them to the light, othertimes casting them to the dark or graciously seeking out melodies when called for.
His deft playing is bold but light with gentle swaying chords and with tremelo, echo and harmonious tones he adds colouring to the pastoral shades.

Cashmore's guitar playing is easily identifiable but working within clearly defined parameters largely set by his choice of instrumentation his compositions have their roots in folk and medieaval musics.
Having said that a number of these thirteen tracks feature sweet pop melodies, occassionally even straying into post-rock territory for a moment.

Yet the sheer beauty of Sleep England is to be found in the hazy reverie created.
It's a space for reflection, a place to catch sight of half-forgotten memories while Cashmore seeks out his elusive England.
And when Michael Cashmore can produce music as staggering as this let's just hope his quest remains unfulfilled.

1 Twilight Empire     4:50
2 I Killed Dusk     3:28
3 Dream England     3:35
4 Broken Seas     3:23
5 If We Knew Silence     4:19
6 The Way They're Found     3:15
7 Passed To Snow     2:48
8 Eight White Stars     4:04
9 Sleep England     4:48
10 Vernon Road     2:24
11 Keepsake     3:38
12 Flowers Under Snow     3:15
13 Untitled     3:42

13.00 €
Add to cart
Successfully added!

« back

This item has been successfully added to cart

Check-out Continue shopping